The Research Advisory Council (RAC) acts as a group of advisors to provide PAT with guidance and knowledge in support of our mission to promote policy perspectives and communicate critical energy issues.   Included in this select group are energy experts representing diverse backgrounds ranging from academic institutions, legislative and regulatory agencies, utility companies, scientific organizations, and power and oil and gas companies. 

Overview & Role:

  • Participation in Quarterly Research Advisory Council Meetings or Conference Calls
  • Participation in Texas Energy Innovation Challenge for 2015
  • Identify and evaluate prospective studies relevant to PAT focus areas
  • Commitment to Support Mission of PAT in Ensuring Reliable & Affordable Energy Supply, Robust Economy and Bright Future for Texas

Members of the RAC:

  • Ed Archuleta, Director, Water Initiatives, University of Texas El Paso
  • Robert S. Balog, Ph.D. P.E., Director, Renewable Energy & Advanced Power Electronics Research Laboratory, Texas A&M University
  • Fred C. Beach, Ph.D., Assistant Director for Policy Studies, Energy Institute, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dave Burnett, Director of Technology, Global Petroleum Research Institute; Research Coordinator, Texas A&M University
  • John C. Butler, Ph.D., Academic Director, Energy Management & Innovation Center Clinical Associate Professor of Finance, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin
  • Ralph Cavanagh, Co-Director, Energy Program, NRDC
  • Randy Charbeneau, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research with The University of Texas System Jewel McAllister Smith Professorship in Energy University of Texas at Austin, Center for Research and Water Resources
  • Ray Cline, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, University of Houston
  • Mukaddes Darwish, Ph.D., Associate Professor at Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University
  • Dr. Robert Duncan, Vice President of Research, Texas Tech University
  • William Hargrove, Director, Center For Environmental Resource Management, University of Texas El Paso
  • Mark Harral, CEO, National Institute of Renewable Energy, Texas Tech University
  • Sam Jones, former Chief Executive Officer at ERCOT
  • Carey King, Assistant Director, Energy Institute, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dr. Ramanan Krishnamoorti, Chief Energy Officer, Energy Institute, University of Houston
  • Charles D. McConnell, Executive Director, Energy and Environment Initiative, Rice University
  • Sean C. Mitchem, Principal Analyst at Southwest Research Institute, Southwest Research Institute
  • Roberto A Osegueda Ph.D., P.E., Vice President for Research, University of Texas El Paso
  • John Pappas, P.E., Interim Director, Texas A&M Energy Institute; Director, Wind Energy Center, Texas A&M University
  • Emil Pena, President, Energy Technology Services, Houston Clean Energy Park
  • Charles Porter, MLA, Assistant Professor, School of Behavioral and Social Sciences, St. Edward’s University
  • Dr. Varun Rai, Assistant Professor of Public Affairs, LBJ Library, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dr. Danny Reible, PhD, Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair, Texas Tech University
  • Kent Saathoff, Electric Grid and Market Planning and Operations, former ERCOT
  • Dr. Andy Sansom, Executive Director, The Meadows Center for Water and the Environment, Texas State University
  • Les Shephard, Ph.D., Professor Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Texas San Antonio
  • Andy Swift, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Associate Director, National Wind Institute at Texas Tech University
  • Scott Tinker, Director, Bureau of Economic Geology, UT Energy Institute
  • Miguel Velez-Reyes Ph.D, P.E. Professor and Chair ECE Department, University of Texas El Paso
  • Dr. Michael Webber, Deputy Director, Energy Institute and Co-Director, Clean Energy Incubator, University of Texas at Austin
  • Bernard L. Weinstein, Ph.D., Associate Director, Maguire Energy Institute, Southern Methodist University

Click here to download a PDF of our RAC Member List!