May 6, 2015 – Austin, TX

PAT’s third biennial Texas Energy Innovation Challenge (TEIC) held on Friday, May 1st at the Texas Capitol was a tremendous success!  The competing teams from five Texas universities presented their innovative solutions for the best use of the water produced from hydraulic fracturing to not only a panel of august judges but also before special guest Texas Water Development Board member Kathleen Jackson!

On behalf of Power Across Texas, a very special THANK YOU to our TEIC Sponsors as we could not have done it without your generous support! 

CGMF Logo     TXWRA_color

In case you missed it, below are a highlights Friday’s Challenge:


1st Place: University of Houston (Faculty Sponsors: Dr. Ramanan KrishnamoortiDr. Hanadi Rifai, & S. Radha)

  • Amin Kiaghadi, PhD Environmental Engineering
  • Rose Sobel, PhD Environmental Engineering
  • Varun Sreenivas, MBA C.T.Bauer College of Business
  • Shanisha Smith, Law Center, Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources Law and International Law

2nd Place: Texas Tech University (Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Danny ReibleMukaddes Darwish and Michael Ryan)

  • Ebru Unal, PhD student in Petroleum Engineering Department
  • James Urban, Master’s in Business Administration student at the Rawls College of Business
  • Ritesh Sevanthi, doctoral candidate at Texas Tech University
  • Soraya Honarparvar, PhD student in the chemical engineering department

3rd Place: University of Texas at Austin (Faculty Sponsors: Dr. Fred Beach and Prof. John C. Butler)

  • Alex Gupta, McCombs School of Business
  • James Lamb, McCombs School of Business
  • Zhengwang (Lisa), doctoral student in chemical engineering program

4th Place: University of Texas at El Paso (Faculty Sponsors: Jennifer ClarkDr. Shane Walker, and Dr. Mark Engle)

  • Oluwaseye Owoseni, Environmental Engineering Graduate in College of Engineering
  • Stephanie Ray, Geological Sciences Graduate in College of Science
  • Sam Simon, Graduate of Latin American and Border Studies in College of Liberal Arts

5thPlace: Texas A& M (Faculty Sponsors:  David Burnett and John Pappas)

  • Nima Ghahremani, graduate student in Environmental Engineering
  • Omar Ghannoum, undergraduate PE
  • Allana Robertson,  graduate student  in Civil Environmental Engineering
  • Preston Tidwell, undergraduate PE

Upcoming PAT Events

  • September 18th -  Policy Forum featuring Texas General Land Office Commissioner George P. Bush
  • October 7 - Policy Forum luncheon with Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar
  • November 3rd - Policy Forum luncheon featuring Jorge Bermudez, Federal Reserve Bank and ERCOT Board
  • December 10th - PAT Member End-of-Year Reception

Lead Sponsors

member-calpine CMC_Logotype_CMYK member-cps LCRA Logo for Site member-luminant

Subscribe to Our Mailing List